Three members of faculty receive CFI grants

Three members of our research faculty, Drs. Brodie Sakakibara, Julia Schmidt, and Jill Zwicker, have been awarded infrastructural John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) grants from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI) to advance their research.

Dr. Brodie Sakakibara’s grant, titled “The Stroke Management and eHealth Innovation Laboratory,” helped Dr. Sakakibara establish the Stroke Management and eHealth Innovation Laboratory (SMILab), which empowers people to better manage their recovery after stroke and increases the accessibility of health services for people with stroke.

Dr. Julia Schmidt’s grant, “Innovations for Traumatic Brain Injury Rehabilitation,” will enable her to integrate real-time neurological testing and virtual reality with individualized rehabilitative approaches targeting activities of daily living among people with chronic traumatic brain injury.

Dr. Jill Zwicker’s grant, “Pediatric Brain Development & Rehabilitation,” is associated with her Canada Research Chair, and it will provide her with the state-of-the-art computers necessary to study the brains of children with Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD).

Collectively, these grants will provide Drs. Sakakibara, Schmidt, and Zwicker with infrastructural upgrades to investigate the diagnosis, treatment, and long-term management of neurological injury and neurodevelopmental impairment.

Profile portrait of Brodie Sakakibara
Dr. Brodie Sakakibara
Profile portrait of Julia Schmidt
Dr. Julia Schmidt
Profile portrait of Jill Zwicker
Dr. Jill Zwicker